Winter 2014 - Home
Saturday 19 Apr 2014

No New Games

Leader Board

Average Points

  • Donte Williams - 33.3
  • Zach Jones - 23.2
  • Josh Davis - 20.7
  • Kevin Harris - 20.4
  • David Paredes - 20.2

Average 3 Pointers

  • Kent Senzee - 5.2
  • Freddy Zamora - 4.6
  • John Brady - 4.6
  • Ashraf Alfatesh - 4.1
  • Zach Ryberg - 4.1

Average Rebounds

  • Kevin Harris - 14.0
  • Zach Clark - 13.2
  • Donte Williams - 11.8
  • Mich Caraway - 11.6
  • Saul Mancinas - 11.3

Free Throws

  • Danny Hunnicutt - 85.0%
  • Sam Okougbo - 84.6%
  • Miko Simental - 84.2%
  • Donte Williams - 82.5%
  • Alberto Almeida - 78.9%

Average Assists

  • -
  • -
  • -
  • -
  • -

Team Scoring

  • Hey Arnold - 83.3
  • Hawgs - 79.1
  • Brogan's Zeroes - 75.7
  • Sour Patch Kids - 74.7
  • Scrap Attack - 63.6

Last 5 Posts

View All 16 Posts

Random Photo

progress circle

Heroes Hog-tie Hawgs; Raimo Named League MVP

Friday 18 April 2014

In a battle of long-time Tucson Basketball League titans, the Heroes (formerly Brogan's Zeroes) held perennial power, The Hawgs, to 41 points in winning the Red Division championship. League scoring champion Donte Williams was clearly the top scorer in the game (we don't keep stats during the playoffs because there's enough craziness going on as it is), but he probably fell short of his more than 33 points-per-game regular-season average. 

Blue Coconuts used balanced scoring and strong rebounding to slip past Sunshine Boys for the Blue Division title. The Coconuts were sparked by a long-range three-pointer from Paul Choi, whose two-handed top-spin shot is generally considered the second-strangest shot in the entire league.

Sour Patch Kids recovered from a slow start to edge past Technicians for the Green Division championship. Ashraf Alfatesh (who has the league's third-strangest shot) hit several big threes down the stretch for the Kids.

Just a Game rode the boards hard to win a tight game against Slow Mavs for the Indigo title.

In one of the best games of the playoffs, Warriors got by Hey Arnold! for the Yellow Division championship.

In the nightcap of championship action, ADHD and Game Time staged a thriller. There were six lead changes in the final four minutes, with ADHD claiming the Orange Division title with a final late surge.

Congratulations to the team champions. Also, Kent Senzee won the three-point title yet again. He is joined by repeat winners Kevin "Hacksaw" Harris (Rebounding), Donte Williams (Scoring), and Danny Hunnicutt (Free-Throw Shooting). The TBL also named Phil Raimo its League MVP for the Winter 2014 season. Phil is one of those players who just does everything well. He plays hard, gets the tough rebound, scores inside, plays defense, and almost never complains. The League would marry him, if such a thing were possible.

The next league will start in a couple weeks, so please be watching this space for the schedule. Thanks.